Research Guides: World Languages and Cultures Research Guide: French

Finding Books and Media

Use WorldCat to find books and media located in libraries worldwide. Request items you find in WorldCat that the Mansfield Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan.

Many books no longer under copyright protection are available online. Try one of the following resources if you are looking for a book published before 1923: Google Books, Open Library, Project Gutenberg, or The Universal Digital Library.

Finding Good Articles

ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
Full text digitized French texts, including novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises in the areas of literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Texts date from the 18th-20th centuries, with a smaller selection of 17th century and some medieval and Renaissance content.

The best place to look for articles is the library databases. Here are the best databases for discovering articles related to French Studies.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History and culture of the world, excluding the United States and Canada

JSTOR
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences
Literature Resource Center
Biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works
Livres Disponibles/Memento
French books in print

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, series, and books covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing, from the 1920s-present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals in the fields of: area and ethnic studies; art and architecture; creative writing; education; film, theater, and performing arts; history; language and linguistics; library science and publishing; literature; medicine and health; music; philosophy; religion; science, technology, and mathematics; social sciences; studies by time period; women's studies, gender, and sexuality.

Voltaire électronique
Complete text of Voltaire's literary works

WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
WorldCat on the former FirstSearch platform is available from http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/worldcat-firstsearch
Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume I This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text digitized cartoon/comic strips, comics, artwork, commentary, and other primary documents focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels from North America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s to the works of modern artists.

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

World Languages and Cultures Research Guide

Finding Books and Media

Finding Good Articles