Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Music  Tags: music songs scores world_music ethnomusicology music_analysis song_texts song_translations musicology music_history composers musicians tammy ravas tammy_ravas sheet_music  

Resources helpful for locating information in music
Last update: Jun 08th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/content.php?pid=4470  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Music Reference Resources             Print Page
  

Quick Links to Classical Music Resources

Quick Links to Music Pages

Music Class Guides

Quick Links to Guides

 
 

Music Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Harvard Dictionary of Music.* 2003
REF 780.3 H3392 2003
* Also available online from Credo Reference.  You will need your NetID and password to access this database from off campus.  After you have signed in, click on "Find a Book."  You will see a list of books covered in Credo Reference covered by topic; scroll down to "music" and click on "Harvard Dictionary of Music."   
- This is a good place to start with an unfamiliar term or concept in music! 

Music Translation Dictionary: English-Czech-Danish-Dutch-French-German-Hungarian-Italian- Polish-Portugese-Russian-Spanish-Swedish Vocabulary of Musical Terms / comp. by Carolyn Doub Grigg.
REF 780.3 G857m

Musician's Handbook of Foreign Terms: Containing the English Equivalents of Approximately 2700 Foreign Expression Marks and Directions Taken from French, German, Italian, Latin, Portugese and Spanish Scores.
REF 781.23 A518m

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG). In German.  2nd ed. (1994-)
REF 780.3 M987 1994; Two sections: Subject encyclopedia 8 v. and Biographical encyclopedia 12 v.
-This resource is all in German and is one of the better known music reference resources.  

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.* 29 v. 2001.
REF 780.3 G883d 2001
*Also available online from our 360 Search page.  Scroll down until you find "Grove Music Online" and click on the link.  You will need your NetID and password to access this database from off campus.
- This resource is considered to be the premier English language reference resource in Music.  Keep in mind that the articles that you'll find here can be lengthy, but it is a helpful tool for getting to know a particular topic and some of its related literature in the bibliographies.  Also useful are works lists for selected composers.  The online version also contains New Grove Dictionary of Opera as well as New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

New Grove Dictionary of Opera.* 4 v. 1992.
REF 782.103 N532

Back to Quick Links to Classical Music Resources 

 

Biographical Sources in Music

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians.Centennial ed. /  Nicholas Slominsky, Laura Kuhn.  6 v.  2001.
REF 780.3 B168b 2001

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Classical Musicians / Nicolas Slonimsky. 1997.
REF 780.922 S634b

Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians / Eileen Southern. 1982.
REF 781.773 X S727b

Contemporary Composers. 1992.
REF 781.309 C761

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music / Don Michael Randel, ed. 1996.
REF 780.922 H339

Index to Biographies of Contemporary Composers / Storm Bull. 3 v. 1964-1987.
REF 780 X B935i

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers / Aaron Cohen. 2nd ed. 1992.
REF 780.9 C678i 1987

Back to Quick Links to Classical Music Resources   
 

 

Music Bibliographies

Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography / George R. Hill, Norris L. Stephens. 1997.
REF 780 X H646
- This is a useful guide to help you navigate through the scores in the M1 through M3 volumes. 

Historical Sets, Collected Editions and Monuments of Music : a Guide to their Contents / Anna Harriet Heyer. 1980.
REF 780 X H615h 1980
- Also a useful source for finding individual works in the M1-M3 volumes.  

Music and Dance of the World's Religions: a Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language / E. Gardner Rust.  1996.
REF 781.7 X R971m

Music in Print Series.
REF 780.164 X M987

Music Reference and Research Materials / Vincent Duckles. 5th ed.
REF 780 X D835m 1997.
- This is the most comprehensive bibliography of music-specific reference resources.

Back to Quick Links to Classical Music Resources

 

Music Directories

Billboard International Buyer's Guide.
REF 780.25 B596 2001

Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities.
REF 780 D598
-This is helpful for locating faculty members of music departments/schools in colleges and universities. 

International Directory of Music and Music Education Institutions.
REF 780.7 B289i 1996

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts.
REF 780.25 M987
-Lists orchestras, opera companies, choral groups, dance companies, performing arts series, contests, festivals, music schools, music publishers, music magazines and newspapers, record companies, artists and agents.

Back to Quick Links to Classical Music Resources

 

Discographies

These resources can help you find recordings of a particular genre, composer, or historical style.   

All Music Guide: the Experts' Guide to the Best Recordings.
REF 780 X A416 1997

Basic Music Library: Essential Scores and Sound Recordings / comp. by the Music Library Association. 3rd ed.
REF 780.26 X B311 1997

Bibliography of Discographies. Vol. 1-3. 1925-1975
v.1: Classical Music
v.2: Jazz
v.3: Popular Music
REF 789.912 X B582 v.1-3

NPR Guide to Building a Classical CD Collection / Ted Libbey.
REF 780.266 X L694n

Penguin Guide to Compact Discs: the Guide to Excellence in Recorded Classical Music.
REF 780.266 X G812p 1999

Schwann Opus: Reference Guide to Classical Music.
780.266 S3981

Back to Quick Links to Classical Music Resources

 

Music Guides

Music Business Handbook & Career Guide / D. Baskerville. 6th ed.
REF 780.2373 B315m 1995

Musician's Guide to Copyright and Publishing / Willis Wager. 1990.
REF 346.730482 W131m 1990

Well-Tempered Announcer: a Pronunciation Guide to Classical Music / Robert A. Fradkin. 1996.
REF 780.14 F799w

Back to Quick Links to Classical Music Resources

 

Music Periodical Indexes

Woops! The content that this box is linked to has been deleted from the system.
 

Music

Profile ImageTammy Ravas
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Visual and Performing Arts Librarian and Media Coordinator
Assistant Professor
MLIB 315
Mansfield Library
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812-9936
Ph. 406-243-4402
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Theatre

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait