EndNote WebRefWorksWeb Tools
This is the "Home" page of the "Mansfield Library Workshops" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Mansfield Library Workshops  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/workshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Spring 2013 Workshops

Learn about research and resources in a small group environment. In addition to the workshops being offered this semester, feel free to contact us to arrange an individual session with a librarian for help on any of the topics or with your research questions.

 

Plagiarism: How to Address Cases of Academic Misconduct and Try to Prevent Them from Happening in the First Place

Friday, February 22, 11:10am-12:30pm (includes lunch), PFNAC 201

Join Rhondie Voorhees, Dean of Students, Megan Stark, Assistant Professor, Mansfield Library, and Kelly Webster, Director of the Writing Center, for a practical conversation about preventing plagiarism and responding to violations. This workshop is part of the Faculty Development Office’s Professional Development Series. RSVP to Amy Kinch (amy.kinch@umontana.edu) for this session.

 

Institutional Review Board

Monday, February 25, 3-4pm, MLIB 284

Will you be conducting research with human subjects? This workshop, led by Paula Baker from The Office of the VP for Research and Development, will clarify what types of projects are required to be reviewed by the Institutional Review Board (IRB) and outline the steps needed to ensure a smooth and successful IRB application.

 

How Do I Stream Videos or Get Closed Captioned Videos for My Class?

Monday, March 4, 3-4pm, MLIB 283

Janet Sedgley, IT, Denise May, Disability Services, and Tammy Ravas, Mansfield Library, will provide information on the ways they can assist you with streaming video and closed-caption video for your classes.

 

Promoting Information Literacy Skills: A Workshop on Designing Assignments and Activities for UM Writing Courses

Thursday, March 7, 11am-noon, MLIB 283

Sponsored by the ASCRC Writing Committee, this session will focus on techniques to integrate information literacy learning required for upper-division writing classes and approved writing courses. You are invited to bring your writing/research assignments with you. This workshop is part of the Faculty Development Office’s Professional Development Series. RSVP to Amy Kinch (amy.kinch@umontana.edu) for this session.

 

Literature Review: Effective Searching and Writing Strategies

Monday, March 18, 3-4:30pm, MLIB 283

In collaboration with the Writing Center, this session will present a strategic approach to the literature review, including search techniques and writing strategies.

 

Manage Your Research with RefWorks

Sunday, March 24, 3-4pm, MLIB 283

Monday, March 25, 3-4pm, MLIB 283

Hands-on workshop on how to utilize the bibliographic management tool RefWorks to organize your research, store citations, and create bibliographies.

 

Copyright Cases and Higher Education
Learn how the outcomes of significant copyright cases affect assignments, teaching, and scholarship.

This session has been cancelled due to conflicts with the University's Innovation and Imagination 2013 events. Contact Tammy Ravas (tammy.ravas @ umontana.edu) with copyright questions or to set up an individual appointment.

 

Keep Current

Monday, April 22, 3-4pm, MLIB 283

Want to stay up-to-date on new research and trends emerging in your field? Find out about RSS feeds and Table of Contents alerts as well as saved searches and how to utilize these awareness services and database features to stay current in your research.

 

Most workshops are held in the Mansfield Library.

RSVP online http://www.lib.umt.edu/forms/workshops

Questions? Contact Kate Zoellner – 243.4421 – kate.zoellner@umontana.edu

 

Fall 2012 Workshops

Institutional Review Board
Will you be conducting research with human subjects? This workshop will clarify what types of projects are required to be reviewed by the Institutional Review Board (IRB) and outline the steps needed to ensure a smooth and successful IRB application.

Marketing Resources
Hands-on workshop on the best databases for marketing information. Learn how to use Business & Company Resource Center, Academic Search Complete, and some methods for finding demographics.

Introduction to Archives and Archival Research
Learn how to find and use archival material for your academic or personal research. This workshop provides an overview of how archives acquire and organize their holdings, and offers tips about using the web to access archival collections at UM and across the US.

Managing Your Research with RefWorks
Hands-on workshop on how to utilize the bibliographic management tool RefWorks to organize your research, store citations, and create bibliographies.

Using the U.S. Census for Demographic Information
A hands-on workshop focused on using American Fact Finder for geographic and demographic information.

Navigating Copyright for Teaching and Research
Learn about the impacts of copyright law on your instruction and scholarship.

Conducting a Literature Review
Learn the components of and a strategic approach to the literature review process.

Identifying Funding with the Foundation Directory Online
Learn how to use Foundation Center resources to identify grant and scholarship opportunities.

 

Summer 2012 Workshops

The Mansfield Library offered two workshops for UM Classified Staff and Contract Employees during the summer.

“What the Library Can Do for You!”

This workshop includes a tour of the library building and a session in the networked classroom to explore how easy it is to find and use library resources. The focus will be on both library resources and services that can help you in your work and personal lives. Bring your questions. This session is all about you! [Sue Samson, Presenter]

“Copyright and the Academy”

This workshop will cover the basic ins and outs of copyright and how it can affect everyday work at an academic institution.  Topics discussed will include: what kinds of materials are copyrightable, common questions, and exceptions to copyright law that are important to academic work.  Ample time will be allotted for any individual questions. [Tammy Ravas, Presenter]

 

Spring 2012 Workshops

During spring semester 2012 the library offered the workshops listed below.


Navigating Copyright for Teaching and Research
Learn about the impacts of copyright law on your instruction and scholarship.

Identifying Funding with the Foundation Directory Online
Learn how to use Foundation Center resources to identify grant and scholarship opportunities. *This workshop is part of the COT's brown bag faculty series and will be held at the COT in room HB08.

Managing Your Research with RefWorks
Hands-on workshop on how to utilize the bibliographic management tool RefWorks to organize your research, store citations, and create bibliographies.

Conducting a Literature Review
Learn the components of and a strategic approach to the literature review process.


Business Series

Business Resources I: Company Information
Hands-on workshop on the best databases for company information using LexisNexis Academic – for larger public companies, Mergent Business Online – for U.S. and International businesses, Reference USA – for small private companies.

Business Resources II: Industry
Hands-on workshop on the best databases for industry information using Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage – industry analyses and reports, Value Line Research Center, and Business & Company Resource Center.

Business Resources III: Marketing
Hands-on workshop on the best databases for marketing information. Learn how to use Business & Company Resource Center, Academic Search Complete, and some methods for finding demographics.

Business Resources IV: Free Government Information
Learn how to use some of the top government websites for financial reports from public companies, demographic information, public spending and more.

 

Spring 2011 Workshops

Throughout spring semester 2011 the library offered workshops titled "Copyright and Today's Technologies" and "Managing Your Research."

 

2009 and 2010 Workshops

Copyright for Faculty & Graduate Students

The library offered a basic overview of copyright workshop in April 2010 to address faculty and graduate students questions, such as: Is it okay to play a YouTube video for my class, Can I use an image in my article manuscript, or Can I hand out 35 copies of an article to my students, What can I put on Blackboard or eRes? The session was led by Tammy Ravas, Media Coordinator, Samantha Hines, Distance Education Coordinator, and Claudia Denker, Associate Legal Counsel.

A video of the workshop is available here and is limited to UM staff, faculty and students by NetID. The sound quality is a little poor. A guide related to copyright can be found here.

Get Your Work Done Before Spring Break Series

During March 2010 the library offered a series of three workshops: Cite it Like You Mean It, Using Wikipedia Smartly, and Research Free Forms. The workshops covered how to format, understand and properly integrate citations; how to find “citeable” material after first consulting Wikipedia; and research strategies given an imminent deadline.

Managing Your Research and Keeping Current Workshops

During March 2010 the library offered "Managing Your Research" workshops on how to utilize the citation management tools EndNote Web and RefWorks to organize research and to create bibliographies and in-text citations.

During Fall 2009 the library offered a workshop titled "Managing Your Research & Keeping Current" that covered how to utilize the citation management tools EndNote Web and RefWorks, as well as guidance on awareness services such as RSS feeds, Table of Contents alerts, and saved search alerts. The tabs on this guide provide some of the information covered during the workshop.

The handouts from each series of workshops are linked below.

Need help?

Profile Image
Help is Here.
Contact Info
406.243.6866

32 Campus Drive
Missoula, Montana 59812
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip