Information resources in support of the study and research in literatures in English.
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2014
This site is
designed to provide fast and effective access to database resources in
support of the study and research in Literatures in English. START by accessing the primary
databases to the right.
You can also search
for books and videos, locate Mansfield Library catalog or
browse all journals by title . databases A-Z
Please contact me
with questions about your research and/or assignments.
Historical full-text collections provide access to a wealth of literature published in English.
Use one of these sources to organize and format your bibliography.
EndNote Web Refworks
Bibliography manager and database-import references from databases, keep track of your research, easily add citations to your papers, and format your bibliography.
These databases are key resources for locating journal articles and books on literary criticism, interpretation, and theory.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
English literature, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences.
Literature Criticism Online and Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
In combination, these databases provide more than 200,000 essays with both critical perspectives and in-depth contextual information needed to understand the social, political and historical implications of a work and the career biographies of writers from all eras and genres dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
Literature Online (LION)
A virtual library containing over 350,000 literary texts together with full-text journals, author biographies and other critical and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center
Full-text biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works
MLA International Bibliography
Literary and language scholarship
OmniFile Full Text Mega
A comprehensive full text selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals to support a core liberal arts curriculum.
Web of Science
Interdisciplinary database with citation tracking.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to present.
Catalog of materials in libraries worldwide.
These databases provide additional sources of information for literary research. Use them to locate supportive historical and related information. Review a list of all Mansfield Library databases here.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary, full-text database
American Periodicals Series
200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Chicago Tribune Historical
(1849-1989) Full-text and full-image articles. Includes complete paper, cover-to-cover, with page and article images in downloadable PDF.
Critical Surveys and Critical Insights (Salem Literature Series)
Comprehensive international reviews of both authors and individual works.
Dissertations, ProQuest Digital
Millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. Over a million full text dissertations are available for download in PDF format.
Essay and General Literature
Index to essays in anthologies and collections in many subject areas. Access limited to 1 concurrent user.
Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
Humanities Full Text
Art, history, literature, music, and religion
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Humanities and social sciences journals
Comprehensive and international index of poems, short stories, and essays published in anthologies and literary magazines
Plot summaries of the most studied works in literature.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
19th century newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
A record of U.S. cultural history from 1890-1982 from periodical literature
Short Story Index
Index to short stories written in or translated into English. Access limited to 1 concurrent user.
New York Times Historical (1851-2006) Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Primary sources focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists.
Washington Post Historical (1877-1993)
Newly added titles in Literature and Rhetoric (Dewey range 800-899), or choose to be alerted to new material in other ranges by subscribing to the library feeds!