Research Guides: Geography Research Guide: Human Geography

Human Geography Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, full-text database.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature such as newsletters, NGO reports, the alternative press, and ephemeral literature, with a focus on critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries, from the 1960s-present.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world's foremost source of references to economic literature.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's studies and gender studies.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Indexes a wide range of humanities and social sciences journals.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text access to backfiles of select scholarly periodicals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences.
ARTstor on JSTOR
Existing ARTstor logins automatically work on JSTOR. The separate artstor.org platform will be available until Aug 1, 2024, when it is scheduled to be retired.

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 10,000 open access (OA) books from 125+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, University College of London, and University of California Press.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities spanning more than one million pages. Brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain.

New Collections Added Aug 2023
Thematic Collections
Three collections focusing on emerging areas of research and containing multiple types of content, including journals and open research reports. Collections include:
•Lives of Literature - Academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
•Security Studies - Academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues.
•Sustainability - Academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. Looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens spanning more than 30 disciplines.

Primary Sources
Global Plants
A growing collection of nearly three million high-resolution type plant specimens and related materials from over 300 community contributors around the world.

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images related to the liberation struggles and end of Apartheid in Southern Africa during the 20th Century, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Heritage Sites: Africa
More than 86,000 objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage and rock art sites.

Social Sciences Full Text
Anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that contains the Social Science Citation Index. Good for citation tracking.

Mapping Inequality

"Mapping Inequality introduces viewers to the records of the Home Owners Loan Corporation on a scale that is unprecedented. Visitors can browse over 150 interactive maps and roughly 5000 individual area descriptions to get a view of Depression-era America as developers, realtors, tax assessors, and surveyors saw it—a set of interlocking color-lines, racial groups, and environmental risks. (Nearly all of the maps and area descriptions are available here, though a handful haven't yet been added.) They can also use the maps and area descriptions to draw connections between past state actions (and inactions) and contemporary American problems."

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

Geography Research Guide

Human Geography Databases

Mapping Inequality