Demography Resources
- FedStats
A good starting point for locating statistics collected by the federal government - American Factfinder
The Census Bureau portal and tool for creating custom demographic tables - Census Bureau Subjects Index
The Census Bureau collects a tremendous amount of data. This is a useful site for identifying data by topic. - GlobStat
Development and globalization information from the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) - WHO Statistical Information System
International statistics on health from the World Health Organization - United Nations Statistics Division
International statistics on demographics and social issues, energy, the environment, economics, and more - National Center for Health Statistics
The NCHS gathers current data on health trends relating to birth, morbidity, mortality, aging, injury, health care, and more. - Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS collects data on price indexes, inflation, consumer behaviors, salaries, benefits, occupational forecasts, work-related injuries, & more. - OFFSTATS
OFFSTATS is a great resource from The University of Auckland Library. Find statistics by topic, country, or region.
GIS Resources
- GeoData.gov
"Geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for improving access to geospatial information and data." - American Factfinder
The Census Bureau's gateway to data, including geographic data - National Geospatial Program Office
- NRIS GIS Data
Montana GIS data from the Natural Resource Information System - National Atlas
Thematic mapping - National Map
- National Park Service GIS
Rural & Urban Planning Resources
- Community Development Resources
Resources from the USDA Rural Information Center - Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
A Department of Energy site with information about new energy technologies - Environmental Management
An Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) site on environmental management that includes a section on smart growth - HUD User
"HUD USER is your definitive source for research and data that offers an in-depth view of housing in the United States. " - Planning, Environment, & Reality
This Federal Highway Administration site for planning resources includes a section on rural planning. - Transportation Planning Capacity Building Program
A Department of Transportation resource for transportation planning for states, cities, and rural and tribal areas.
Physical Geography Resources
- Bureau of Reclamation
Includes links to water-related databases and water projects (dams, reservoirs, power plants) - DEQ Water Quality Information
- Environmental Protection Agency Water Subtopics
A portal to EPA information related to water - EPA Region 8
This region includes Montana, and the site has detailed information on local projects. - Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation
The DNRC gathers information on water rights, local waterways, floodplain management, and more. - Montana Water Information System
Includes "data on surface water, groundwater, water quality, riparian areas, water rights, climate data and more" - NOAA Research
The National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration research climate, bodies of water, the weather, & air quality. - Science Accelerator
A Department of Energy database that allows you to search R&D results, project descriptions, and other research, from 1943 through the present - Science.gov
A great portal for science research. Searches 12 science agencies, including DOE, Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC), EPA, NASA, USGS, National Technical Information Service (NTIS), Forest Service, Department of Health and Human Services, etc. - Surf Your Watershed
Environmental, streamflow, and other information by watershed - USGS Water Resources of Montana
- Water Resources of the United States
A U.S. Geological Survey portal on water information - Montana NRCS
The Montana Office of the Natural Resources Conservation Service collects data on snowpack, streamflow, soil conservation, & air quality. - USGS Publications Warehouse USGS has been busy digitizing its old reports. The Publication Warehouse has bibliographic citations for over 70,000 publications, and full text for over 40,000 publications.
Government Documents Librarian |
Contact Info:
Mansfield Library, Room 324
406-243-4548
jennie.burroughs@umontana.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Documents, Geography
Mansfield Library, Room 324
406-243-4548
jennie.burroughs@umontana.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Documents, Geography
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait