Using E-Books
Blackboard and Library Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Distance Education Library Services  Tags: distanceeducation samantha  

Are you taking or teaching classes online or at a distance? Find out what the Mansfield Library can do for you!
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/dels  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Blackboard and Library Resources             Print Page
  
 

Why integrate library resources?

The Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library subscribes to hundreds of academic electronic resources for the use of the University of Montana community. This guide will help you find ways to integrate the use of these resources into your Blackboard course shells.

Incorporating links and references to Library resources into your course will benefit you and your students in two ways. First of all, students and those new to electronic research often don’t realize that the contents of these specialized academic resources can’t simply be found with a web search via Yahoo, Google or some other search engine. Secondly, by promoting and encouraging the use of Library resources you provide access to better resources than students may find on their own, which will lead to higher quality papers and assignments.
 

Linking to the library homepage

UMOnline has added the Mansfield Library as a tab in Blackboard, making it easier for students to find their way to library resources.  However, these tabs are a bit easy to overlook (you may not have even noticed their presence!).  One of the simplest ways to integrate library resources directly into your course is to provide a link to our homepage (http://www.lib.umt.edu) right in the course menu. This link will both remind your students that the library has a plethora of resources at their disposal and provide easy access to those resources. To link to the library homepage:

1. Log into Blackboard and enter your course shell.

2.  Click on the “Control Panel.”

3. Select “Manage Course Menu” from the “Course Options” area.

4. Click on “External Link” from the “Add” options at the top of the menu.

5. Give the link a name like “Mansfield Library” or “Library Resources,” enter the web address for the link (http://www.lib.umt.edu), and, if you’d like, check the box to make the link open in an external window. This will keep the course page open in the background as students use library resources. You can also choose a specific page on the library website, like the subject guide for your course/discipline.

6. Click on the Submit button, then “Ok,” then click “Ok” again and return to the course homepage. The link to the library website will now appear at the bottom of your course menu.

 

Identifying Subject Specific Electronic Resources

The Library provides a one-stop listing of electronic resources via the Library website’s “Databases” links (http://weblib.lib.umt.edu). This listing is arranged by subject area and also alphabetically.

Subject liaison librarians are also able to recommend electronic resources that have particular relevance to your course or assignment requirements. Contact your librarian as well for recommendations on additional course resources like books, media, websites, maps, government documents, videos, and more. We can also create handouts or craft instruction sessions on researching, using the Library’s resources, plagiarism, and so on.  Feel free to recommend resources to your subject librarian as well!

Complete subject liaison librarian contact information and information on the Library’s instruction can be found at http://www.lib.umt.edu/node/115.

 

Accessing Library Electronic Resources from a Distance

The majority of the Library’s subscribed electronic resources (online databases, indexes, etc.) are limited to use by faculty, students, staff and affiliated members of the University of Montana community.

All on-campus computers are recognized as authorized users. Logging in should not be required for most resources. Off-campus users will need to log in in order to use subscribed electronic resources. Details are available at http://weblib.lib.umt.edu/remote.html.

When a user attempts to access a subscribed electronic resource from an off-campus computer, a pop-up window appears requesting that the user enter their NetID and password.  The user should make sure a pop-up blocker does not disable the pop-up window. Once the login process is completed, access and searching are no different than if the user were working from an on-campus computer.
 

Integrating Library Electronic Resources into Blackboard

We encourage faculty to point students whenever possible to a complete electronic resource (e.g. the full database) rather than providing a static URL for specific electronic content (e.g. the article). This encourages the student to explore electronic resources, and provides opportunities for students to learn and use important research skills.

While faculty may choose to simply point students to the Library website (http://www.lib.umt.edu) or the database search page (http://weblib.lib.umt.edu), it is also possible to point students directly to the entry point of a specific electronic resource. The following example describes how to do so. Adapt this process to the desired electronic resource. Consult your subject liaison librarian if you need assistance.

1. From an on-campus computer, navigate from the Library’s electronic resources page (http://weblib.lib.umt.edu) to the specific resource by using the subject divisions or the alphabetical index.

2. Click on the name of a resource, for example Science Direct.

3. Note the resulting URL that appears in your browser. For example, the Science Direct URL that appears is http://www.sciencedirect.com/. Please keep in mind that electronic resource URLs may change and should be checked from time to time.

4. Place the following before the URL:
http://weblib.lib.umt.edu:8080/login?url=

For example, the Science Direct URL would now read:
http://weblib.lib.umt.edu:8080/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/ 


5. Test out this new URL by typing it into your web browser. If cutting and pasting from Word, double check that the URL is entered correctly (Word sometimes breaks up the URL or inserts extra characters). Hit the “Enter” key to make sure the URL takes you to the right database or index page.

6. Use this new, compound URL to create links within your Blackboard course environment. Students accessing this URL from an on-campus computer will be transferred directly to the resource. Those connecting from off-campus will be prompted to enter their NetID and password.

 

Can I Point Students Directly to Complete Articles within a Database?

While some databases provide constant or static URLs for their contents, this can be difficult to determine. In addition, altering the URL to facilitate remote access authentication is less straightforward than when pointing students to the complete resource (e.g. Science Direct). The URL that appears when you view an article may contain, for example, components of your search or specific session. These components will make the URL invalid when accessed in the future.

If you wish to point students directly to specific articles, rather than providing citations or search suggestions and linking to the complete resource for retrieval, please consult with your subject liaison librarian, or consider using the Library’s electronic reserve (E-Reserve) service.
 

E-Reserve

The Library’s electronic reserve service facilitates the scanning of documents, for example, journal articles, and makes them available electronically within a password-protected, course-specific environment.

The Library’s copyright guidelines for electronic reserve are available at http://www.lib.umt.edu/gen/copyright.htm. Articles that are already available electronically, such as those in an online database or e-journal, may be made available via e-reserve. A printable e-reserve request form is available online at http://www.lib.umt.edu/node/302.

Once e-reserves have been established for your course, you will be provided with a URL through the reserves site that links directly to the e-reserve entry point for your specific course. This URL can be easily linked within your Blackboard course shell. You will need to disseminate the password (chosen by you) to your students.

For additional assistance with e-reserve, please contact Mansfield Library’s Reserves specialist, Julia Jackman-Brink, at 243-6730 or Julia.jackman-brink@umontana.edu.

 

Providing a Direct Link to the Library Catalog

If you’d like to provide a direct link to your students for the Mansfield Library catalog, please use:  http://catalog.lib.umt.edu
 

Can I Point Students Directly to the Full Library Catalog Record for a Specific Item?

It is possible to create static URLs for specific library catalog records, but some work is required. By instead providing students with citations or recommended search terms and a link to the Library catalog or homepage, faculty can provide students with opportunities to practice search techniques. If you do wish to point students to a specific library catalog record, please contact your subject liaison librarian for assistance.

 

Copyright, Fair Use, and TEACH Act Information

The Mansfield Library has a separate guide to copyright issues available at:

http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/copyright

 

Citation Guides

Some of our most requested online pages is our citation guide.  Consider linking to this:

http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/content.php?pid=3183

 

Library and Research Instruction

Your subject liaison librarian and the Distance Education Coordinator can work with you to provide handouts, online lectures, tutorials, demonstrations and other library and research instruction resources comparable to those offered to face-to-face classes. Feel free to contact either your liaison librarian or the Distance Education Coordinator to discuss what options work best for your course.

Complete subject liaison librarian contact information can be found at http://www.lib.umt.edu/node/115. The Distance Education Coordinator’s contact information is at the top of this Guide.

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageSamantha Hines


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Mansfield Library room 323
(406) 243-4558
samantha.hines@umontana.edu

Office Hours by appointment
Ref. Desk Hours 10-12 Fri
Send Email

Subjects:
economics, communication studies, journalism, political science, sociology, social work, distance education library services

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait