Using E-Books
Blackboard and Library Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Distance Education Library Services  Tags: distanceeducation samantha  

Are you taking or teaching classes online or at a distance? Find out what the Mansfield Library can do for you!
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/dels  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Electronic Resources             Print Page
  

Accessing Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources can be accessed from the library's main website in two ways:

  1. Click on "Databases by Subject" to get a list of resources organized by discipline.  If you're searching for general information, you can select "Central Search" to search through general databases.
  2. Click on "Database A-Z list" to get a list of all the resources we have access to electronically.  If you're looking for a particular database or index (PsycINFO, ERIC, etc) this will be the best way to get there.

Remote access logins are the same as your Blackboard or Grizmail accounts.  You will be asked for this information when you use most library resources off campus.  If you are asked for any other logins, please contact me or the reference desk (1-800-240-4939)

Some Suggested Library Resources:

  • Credo Reference  
      
    Encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations on many topics, all online and searchable.
  • NetLibrary  
      
    Full text, online, and searchable books in many topic areas. Content appears exactly as it was printed in the original book.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    Dictionary, language reference, quotation, and subject reference works from all areas, all online and searchable.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Database of magazine, newspaper, encyclopedia, and scholarly journal articles in a variety of disciplines.
  • Ebrary  
      
    Full text, online and searchable books in many topic areas. Content appears exactly as it was printed in the original book.
 

Guide to getting started at the library from off campus--screencast series

Just click parts 1-4 in order to see four screencasts discussing the basics of using the Mansfield Library at a distance.  Part 1 is an overview, Part 2 is the library catalog, Part 3 is journal articles and Part 4 is a wrapup.


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Quick Poll

Do you use the library's electronic resources when doing assignments for your distant classes?
Yes.
No, research is not required for my distant classes.
No, I use Google or another search engine.
No, I use a library in person.
Other (list in comments)

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageSamantha Hines


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Mansfield Library room 323
(406) 243-4558
samantha.hines@umontana.edu

Office Hours by appointment
Ref. Desk Hours 10-12 Fri
Send Email

Subjects:
economics, communication studies, journalism, political science, sociology, social work, distance education library services

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait