Suggested Databases
Click here for a complete list of databases offered by Mansfield Library (http://www.lib.umt.edu).
Suggested databases:
- Academic Search Premier - Multidisciplinary, full-text database.
- American Chemical Society Web Editions - Chemistry and related sciences.
- Google Scholar - Scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
- SciFinder Scholar - Index to chemistry literature; on campus use only.
- Web of Science - Multidisciplinary index.
Journal Titles
Search specialized magazines and journals when looking for articles on your research topic. Some of the browsing examples to look at are: Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis; Analytical Chemistry; Chemical Reviews; Chemical Society Reviews; Inorganic Chemistry; Journal of Combinatorial Chemistry; Journal of Medicinal Chemistry; Journal of Natural Products; Organometallics; Surface Science Reports.
To Browse Titles or Journals by Subject, click here: Mansfield Library Journals.
Book Catalogs
For search hints, take a look at the following: UM Catalog Help and Finding Books.
Book catalog resources:
- The University of Montana Catalog - All time periods: Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- WorldCat - All time periods; Library Union Catalog; Books, Media, Government Documents, etc.
- Google Book Search - Snippet and full-text views of books as they are scanned by the Google Book Project.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- AccessScience - Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online
- Cassell Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 H3216c)
- Concise Encyclopedia Chemistry (540.3 A111)
- Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds (547.0503 D554)
- Dictionary of Steroids (574.1924303 D554)
- Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (660.3 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry (542.85 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry (546.03 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (503 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (547.2 E56)
- Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry (543.0858 E5646)
- Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry (540.3 F1428)
- German Dictionary of Chemistry, Langenscheidt Routledge (540.3 L275)
- Glossary of Chemical Terms (540.3 H229)
- Great Chemists (540 F219)
- IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry (540.3 M167)
- Women in Chemistry and Physics (540 W872)
Handbooks, Tables and Data Sets
- The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT NMR Spectra (547.30877 A365)
- Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI; Journal Info) (540.5 X C517);
see also http://www.cas.org/Support/DDS/ddssearch.html - The Chemical Database, University of Akron
- Chemical Engineer's Handbook (660.28 P465)
- The Chemist's Ready Reference Handbook (543 S562)
- NIST Chemistry WebBook
- Comprehensive Biological Catalysis (572.7 C737)
- Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry (547.7 C73784)
- Comprehensive Organic Transformations (547.2 L328c)
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry (547.05 C737)
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (541.9 H236)
- CRC Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds (547 C111)
- CRC Handbook of Pesticides (615.902 C111)
- The Elements (546 E559)
- Handbook of Critical Constants of Solids (530.412 H23649)
- Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds (547.00212 H236)
- Handbook of Spectroscopy (535.84 C111)
- Lange's Handbook of Chemistry (540 H236)
- Organic Compounds Database, Colby College
- Organic Syntheses
- Periodic Table - Visual Interpretation
- Periodical Table - WebElements
- Physical Reference Data, NIST
- Polymer Handbook (547.7 P783)
- Properties of Aqueous Solutions of Electrolytes (541.372 P965)
- Quantities, Units, and Symbols in Physical Chemistry (541.3014 Q1)
- Solvents Database, National Center for Manufacturing Sciences
- Stereoselective Synthesis: Methods of Organic Chemistry (541.223 S8382)
- Tables of Isotopes (541.388 L473)
Toxicology Databases
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
- Chemical Information (includes ChemlDplus)
- Environmental Fate Data Base
- EPA Databases and Software
- ExToxNet (Extension Toxicology Network)
- MSDS Index (SIRI)
- Toxic Release Inventory
- Toxline
- ToxNet (Toxicology Network)
- Where to find Material Safety Sheets (MSDS) on the internet
Web Sites - Search Engines
For hints on how to use search engines effectively, take a look at the following: Finding Info and Evaluating Web Sites.
Some suggested search engines are:
Web Sites - MetaSites & Directories
- American Chemical Society
- BioChemWeb: Virtual Library of Biochemistry
- Chemical Information Sources
- Google Patent Search
- Information Resources for Chemistry & Biochemistry (UCSB)
- Links for Chemists
- Organic Chemistry Online
- SpectroscopyNOW
- U.S. Patents
- Virtual Chemistry
- Virtual Chemistry Center (Martindale's)
- WWW Chemistry Guide
- Yahoo Chemistry
Web Sites - Educational Resources for Instruction
Citation Guides
Here are some resources to help you manage your bibliographies:
- The ACS Style Guide (808.06654 A187)
- ACS Style Guidelines Quick Guide
- EndNote
- Quick Guide to Citing - Using the ACS Style Guide, 3rd Ed.
- Refworks
Need help? |
Barry BrownBarry Brown
Science Librarian
Head, Access & Collectiion Services
Mansfield Library, The University of Montana
32 Campus Drive. #9936
Missoula, MT 59812-9936
406-243-6811; Office ML 327
Send Email
Subjects:
Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Environmental Studies, Forestry & Conservation, Geosciences, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait