Skip to main content

FAQ: Collections & Course Reserves

Q. Do you have picture books or kids books?

Yep! Go to level two of Mansfield Library and look for the "Children's Collection" sign to browse our fiction and nonfiction children's and young adult books. 

To browse our children's books online search "children's collection" (include the quotation marks) in OneSearch and select the radio button next to UM Physical Items:

screenshot of advanced search for the children's collection

Visit our library media research guide for more information on children's literature.

Q. I cannot access a title from EBSCOhost ebooks. What do I do?

EBSCOhost ebooks may have a limit on the number of users who can read a title at a given time. You will see a message if copies are already in use. Users are able to view titles online through the PDF Full Text link.

To download the full title, a user needs to register for a free EBSCOhost account and also have Adobe Digital Editions or equivalent software installed. See instructions at https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/Downloading-EBSCO-eBooks-Tutorial?language=en_US

If you continue to have issues, please contact the library with a description of the problem. For example, what steps did you take and what screen are you seeing at the time of the issue.

Q. Where can I get a book for my class?

We have Course Reserve materials at the Check Out desk for some classes. They are organized by instructor name, course title and number, and department. You can search for Reserve items on the library homepage after clicking the Course Reserves tab above the search box. 

Q. Do you have a copy of my class textbook that I can check out?

We may have the item if your instructor put the textbook on reserve at the library. To find out, search in the Course Reserves search tab from the library homepage. You can search by the title of the book, or use the course code or your instructor's name (see image below).

While the library rarely purchases traditional textbooks for our general collection we may have other items required for your courses. Use the OneSearch search tab to find out.

screenshot of course reserves tab on home page

Q. Do you have popular books?

We have a Popular Reading Collection on Level 3 (the main level), over by the Paw Print. It includes around 600 titles currently, of many different genres. We try to keep up with the latest bestsellers: suggest a purchase if you can't find a particular book.

Q. Can I renew a Course Reserve item?

Course Reserve items are not renewable, but you can check them out more than once in a day. Please check back in half an hour after you return the item to see if it is available.