Skip to main content

Chinese Studies: Home

Starting points

The Cambridge History of China series, Available electronically through the database Cambridge Books Online 

Columbia history of Chinese literature / Victor H. Mair, editor.
 2001 
895.109 C7261 

 

Bibliographies

Bibliography for the Study of Chinese Literature in the Anglophone World, He Lin, http://docs.lib.purdue.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2710&context=clcweb

Modern Chinese Literature and Culture, Bibliographies

Dictionaries

CEDICT Online Chinese-English Dictionary
“This Chinese-English dictionary provides a searchable interface for the CEDICT dictionary originally put together by Paul Denisowksi. Searches can be conducted by Chinese (using either the GB, Big5, or Unicode encodings), pinyin, or English. Results will show the Chinese word, the pinyin representation of the word, and the English definition. You can also click on the pinyin to hear how it is pronounced. Hosted by mandarintools.com.

Lin Yutang's Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage 

“A Chinese-English Dictionary in Traditional Characters provided by The Chinese University of Hong Kong Research Institute for the Humanities. The dictionary database can either be queried in "search mode" or it can be accessed in "browse mode." A radical index, pinyin index, english index, and index of technical and linguistic abbreviations are also provided.”

Subject Guide

Susanne Caro's picture
Susanne Caro
Contact:
(406) 243-4548

Office Hours Tuesday 10-1 .
Website / Blog Page

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete  
Multidisciplinary, full-text database

Cambridge Books Online  Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies
“This opens a pop-up window to share the URL for this database Access over 325 ebooks in subject areas including climatology and climate change, natural resource management, agriculture, horticulture, and forestry. NOTE: Select the Individual Titles link to browse the list of available ebooks.”

JSTOR 
“Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, business, and sciences with an embargo for current issues of 2-5 years.”

Helpful websites

Mao Tse-tung Internet Library 

Chinese Hell Scrolls 
“This site is devoted to the exploration and development of a growing collection of Chinese hell scrolls at Reed, including two complete ten-scroll sets as well as many other partial sets and independent scrolls.”

Formosa: 19th Century Images 
“This extensive digital library gathers together a large body of primarily European and American images of the island of Taiwan — called "Formosa" by foreign visitors in the 19th Century — and its various peoples. These textual representations, woodcuts, maps, and linguistic data were originally published in European and North American books and journals during the 19th Century, but are not easily accessible to those interested in the history of Taiwan today. The site also includes a search engine and a timeline database.”

China Data Online 
“An online database maintained by the China Data Center at the University of Michigan. Reed's subscription facilitates access to many of the statistical series collected and published by China's National Statistical Bureau. Data are available at national, provincial and sometimes city or county levels, with time series provided in monthly or annual intervals.”

CEDICT Online Chinese-English Dictionary
“This Chinese-English dictionary provides a searchable interface for the CEDICT dictionary originally put together by Paul Denisowksi. Searches can be conducted by Chinese (using either the GB, Big5, or Unicode encodings), pinyin, or English. Results will show the Chinese word, the pinyin representation of the word, and the English definition. You can also click on the pinyin to hear how it is pronounced. Hosted by mandarintools.com.

AccessAsia 
“AccessAsia, the first clearinghouse to track the expertise and current research of specialists on policy-related issues in Asia, was established by The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) in 1990. The project currently tracks over 3,000 leading academic, government, and private-sector specialists on Asia, making it the only resource of its kind. Findings are available at no charge in an online searchable database. The website also contains a well-maintained list of links to research organizations, news, and electronic publications that address Asian policy issues.”

 

Chinese Studies Internet Resources 
“An extensive annotated list of internet resources at the Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library, University of California, Los Angeles. Organizes web resources into the following categories: Comprehensive, Arts/Language/Literature, Business/Economy, Electronic Journals, Ethnic Studies, History, Library Resources, Medicine, News, Philosophy/Religions, Politics/Government/Law, and Universities/Research Institutions. Also provides lists of online resources specific to Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan, as well as links to Chinese search engines and web directories.”

 

Library of Congress

At the Library of Congress: Chinese Electronic Resources