Skip to main content

Accessibility Services: Use Technologies & Software

Library support for persons with disabilities

Accessibility Center

Mansfield Library

Room 209 on level 2 of the library provides a quiet area that is reserved for students, faculty and staff to use accessibility hardware and software for academic work. To access this room check out the key from circulation staff at the Information Center on level 3.

Specialized equipment includes:

  • Height adjustable tables
  • Visualtec reading machine
  • Arkenstone "Open Book" reading machine
  • Videophone for Sign Language Relay
  • 3 computer workstations
  • Software:
    • Read&Write Gold
    • Jaws
    • Dragon
    • Wynn
    • Open Book
    • MAGic
    • Book Port
    • Book Wizard

Missoula College

The area next to the photocopiers at Missoula College Library provides equipment focused on accessibility and DSS student needs.  Assistance is available at the library’s main desk.

Specialized equipment includes:

  • Videophone for Sign Language Relay
  • Projection Magnifier
  • Large scanner that creates OCR pdfs or audio files from documents/books
  • 1 computer workstation
  • Software:
    • Read&Write Gold
    • Jaws
    • Dragon
    • Wynn
    • Open Book
    • MAGic
    • Book Port
    • Book Wizard

To arrange for training in the use of this equipment IT Accessible Technology Services / (406) 243-4357 (Voice),  Email

Computers

Wheelchair accessible - computer on height-adjustable table is available on level 3.  This computer includes reading and speech recognition software in addition to the software available on all public computers in the library.  Priority is given to students, faculty and staff who wish to use the assistive technology software or who require an adjustable height table.

All public computers include:

  • Windows Ease of Access Center
  • JAWS
  • NVDA
  • Read&Write Gold

Ease of Access Center

The Ease of Access Center provides a convenient, centralized place to locate accessibility settings and programs to make your computer easier to use. The Ease of Access Center can be found in the Control Panel by selecting Windows logo key+U and also when logging into Windows.

Overview of accessibility features in Windows 7

Feature  Description
Visual Notifications Replace system sounds with visual cues, such as a flash on the screen, so system alerts are announced with visual notifications instead of sounds.
Magnifier Magnifies the screen or a portion of the screen to make text, images, and objects easier to see
On-Screen Keyboard

A visual, on-screen keyboard with all the standard keys that you can use instead of a physical keyboard. On-Screen Keyboard also lets you type and enter data with a mouse or other pointing device.

Narrator Reads aloud on-screen text and describes some events (such as error messages appearing) that happen while you're using the computer.
Change text size Lets you make text and objects larger and easier to see without losing graphics quality.
Keyboard shortcuts Keyboard combinations of two or more keys that, when pressed, can be used to perform a task that would typically require a mouse or other pointing device. Keyboard shortcuts can make it easier to interact with your computer, saving you time and effort.
Sticky keys Instead of having to press three keys at once (such as when you must press the CTRL, ALT, and DELETE keys simultaneously to log on to Windows), you can press one key at a time when Sticky Keys is turned on.
Mouse keys Instead of using the mouse, you can use the arrow keys on the numeric keypad to move the pointer.
Filter Keys Ignore keystrokes that occur in rapid succession and keystrokes that are held down for several seconds unintentionally.
Captions Get information via animations and video that some programs use to indicate that activity is happening on your computer.

 

Software and Hardware Options

The Mansfield Library provides an array of hardware and software to facilitate research and study.

JAWS 

JAWS is a screen reading program for computer users who are blind, low vision or experience other significant reading barriers, including learning disabilities. JAWS makes your computer talk, and can be used with nearly every standard application; including word processors, databases, spreadsheets, web browsers and email applications

Read & Write Gold

Read & Write, Gold supports struggling readers and writers, those with literacy difficulties (including dyslexia) and English language learners, through a host of reading, writing, and study/research features.  Read & Write, Gold is supported on Windows, Mac, and iOS platforms and is used globally in education, the workplace, and at home. Read & Write Gold is a floating toolbar allowing users to access Read & Write, Gold features from within other programs such as Word, web browsers or PDF readers.

WYNN

WYNN (What You Need Now) will scan and read print documents and books back to you. WYNN reads word processing files, web sites, e-mail, text-only DAISY format, Adobe .PDF and scanned documents aloud, and provides a variety of tools to help you read, learn and understand the material you are studying.  WYNN can enlarge the displayed text, increase line and word spacing and decrease column width to improve access to text material.  WYNN provides language tools, including a thesaurus, a dictionary, a pronunciation guide, and spell-check.

Open Book

Open Book scans and reads back print documents to the user. It is built for blind and low vision users, relying on keyboard commands rather than "point-and-click" functions using the mouse. Open Book can also read Adobe .PDF files, any word processor or other formats, including formatted digital Braille files. Open Book has bookmarking features, and can translate files into electronic Braille formats, as well as back-translating them (out of electronic Braille format).

Dragon Naturally Speaking  

DNS is speech recognition software that enables users to control a computer and enter information by speaking. With DNS, a microphone takes the place of the keyboard, and, for some, the mouse. . Dragon works in conjunction with many popular software packages, including the Microsoft Office suite of programs.  Once Dragon is running, you can use your voice to start a program ("Start Microsoft Word"), open a file ("File, Open, File Name"), dictate your document, save your document ("File, Save"), print your document ("File, Print") and close the program ("File, Exit")

FS Reader

FS Reader is installed on all Windows machines that also have JAWS.  It is able to play audio DAISY formats from RFB & D as well as text-only DAISY from Bookshare.org and from our Alternate Materials department.

Book Wizard Reader

Book Wizard Reader reads audio Daisy format books from Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic (RFBD), which come to the student on CD. It also will read text Daisy format titles from Bookshare.org using the SAPI voice synthesizer. Book Wizard Reader plays these specialized formats, allowing easy navigation between chapters, pages and sections of the book. Daisy books, or Audio Plus as they are called when coming from RFBD, cannot be played in standard MP3 players or iPods CD players or with your computer's media software.

more information

 For basic questions about the library's technology and software ask for assistance from the tech support staff at the Information Center on level 3 or visit our technology support page online.  For a list of equipment that you can borrow form teh library see our equipment checkout list.

For training on specialized equipment or assistive technologies contact: IT Accessible Technology Services,  Social Sciences 120,  The University of Montana, Missoula, MT 59812, Phone: (406) 243-4357 (Voice),  Email