Research Guides: Physical Therapy Research Guide: Home

Health Sciences Electronic Resources

The electronic resources listed below are of particular relevance for research in physical therapy. Access all library electronic resources remotely 24/7 via your NetID and password.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in the life sciences and biomedicine. It also covers nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine. Contains over 24 million citations from 5,516 journals. Coverage is from 1946-present.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal and magazine articles, conference proceedings, books, and book chapters on sports and sports medicine; includes the SPORTDiscus Index. Coverage is 1930-present. Access limited to 4 users.
F.A. Davis Physical Therapy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 40 books and includes case studies, drug information, and 400+ videos covering the full spectrum of physical therapy topics. Access provided by the UM School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science.
AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 60 McGraw-Hill physical therapy textbooks, reference materials, drug information, case files, and NPTE study tools, as well as videos and interactive modules.
R2 Digital Health Sciences Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text e-books in the health sciences including medical, nursing and allied health titles.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals with coverage dating back to 1937. The database also provides full text for more than 275 books/monographs.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text independent evidence, including systematic reviews, clinical trials, technology assessments, economic evaluations, individual clinical trials, and more from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, as well as special collections on specific healthcare topics.
Journals@Ovid LWW Total Access Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of over 280 journals in the areas of nursing, medicine, and allied health.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages in public health and biomedical research, from 1973-present. Produced by The Centre for Biosciences and Agriculture International (CABI). Access limited to 4 users.
Global Health Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to historical public health and biomedical research from out-of-print journals, from 1910 to 1983. Produced by The Centre for Biosciences and Agriculture International (CABI).
Health and Wellness (from Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more on health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

Additional Electronic Resources

The electronic resources listed below include health sciences sources, as well as sources covering other subject areas.

Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of two million entries across Oxford University Presss dictionaries, biographies, companions and encyclopedias spanning 25 core subject areas. Access limited to 1 user.
"Too many concurrent users" indicates that the database is already being used by the maximum allowable number of users. Try to access the database at a different time.

It is recommended that users of this database do the following to limit concurrency turnaways and to allow for other users to gain access to the database: 1) Ensure all browsers are set to enable cookies or the system may log each individual piece of content on a page as a new request and register it as a separate session; 2) Log out completely after finishing a session. If the log out button is not selected upon exiting the database, it may take up to 20 minutes for the session to expire; 3) Use only one open browser per session. Multiple browser windows may be logged as separate sessions.
SAGE Online Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journals in the following fields: arts and humanities; science, technology, and medicine; education; business management; sociology; research methods and evaluation; engineering and materials sciences; psychology; politics and international relations; social sciences; health sciences. Library licenses most Sage journals offered, including archival content dating back to volume 1 for many titles. NOTE: This Ejournal Package was cancelled beginning Jan 2021. Click more... for details.
Package title list: Sage Publications
See the Library Guide to Finding Articles for information about the cancellations and other resources for obtaining full text.
Post-2020 perpetual access will include:
•All titles in the collection (as of 2011) from Volume I through 1998.
•No perpetual access for 1999-2005.
•Perpetual access to some titles for 2006-2008.
•Perpetual access to all titles currently available for 2009-2020.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library's ScienceDirect journal package was cancelled for 2024, changes took effect on January 1, 2024. See the Post-cancellation access to Elsevier ScienceDirect articles guide for further details and options for obtaining articles from cancelled journals.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly journals covering 23 subjects in 3 core areas: science & technology, social science & humanities, and medical. Includes archival coverage dating back to volume 1 for many titles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 1900-present. Install the LibKey Nomad extension to improve your research experience.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,600 e-journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Coverage is generally 1997-present. The library does not license all content offered on the Wiley site. The 'Full Access' lock icon denotes content available to UM users.
WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of library resources held by institutions around the world. Find materials and place interlibrary loan requests for resources not owned locally.
WorldCat on the former FirstSearch platform is available from http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/worldcat-firstsearch

Manage Your Research

RefWorks and EndNote are web-based bibliography managers/databases. Use them to import references from databases, keep track of your research, easily add citations to your papers, and format your bibliography.

For more information see the Refworks Video Tutorials and the EndNote Support.

Maureen and Mike Mansfield Library

Physical Therapy Research Guide

OneSearch

Quick Links

Ask Us! We're Here to Help

Health Sciences Electronic Resources

Additional Electronic Resources

Manage Your Research