Printed guides
Print indexes
These indexes can be helpful for locating older (pre-1976) government publications.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976
Lv.1-Documents Reference: GP 3.8: (1895-1976)
Index to the publications of the U.S. Government. Gives the call number necessary to find the publications on the shelves. New documents are cataloged in the Catalog of Government Publications.
Cumulative Subject Index, 1895-1899, and 1900-1971
Lv.1-Documents Reference: 15.73 X C9711 or GP 3.8:
Citations given under the subject refer to the year of the Monthly Catalog and the appropriate page number or item number in the Monthly Catalog.
Cumulative Title Index, 1789-1976
Lv.1-Documents Reference: 015.73 X L642c
This index gives the call number for older documents so it is not necessary to go back to the Monthly Catalog.
Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909
http://www.evergreen.edu/library/govdocs/tools/1909checklist/
Lv.1-Documents Reference: GP 3.2:C 41/2
Documents Catalog
Lv.1-Documents Reference: GP 3.6: (1889-1940)
Excellent document index for older publications.
A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5, 1774-March 4, 1881 (Poore's Index)
Lv. 1-Documents Reference: Y 4.P 93/1:G 74/1
This is a classic index for early government information. It is structured chronologically and includes an
index.
RSS Feed
Finding Government Documents
Federal government information is still making its way online. Recent reports are often available online, but historical materials are slowly being digitized by agencies, libraries, and corporate vendors. The majority of historic government information is available in print at this time.
Tracking down older government information can be challenging (but worthwhile). Items from 1976-present should be in the library catalog. The library is working on getting records for all of its government documents in the catalog, but it will take time to get 200 years worth of material in the catalog. If there isn't a record for the item you want in the catalog, the library may still own it; remember the 1976-present limitation. Try WorldCat, the digital Serial Set, or some of the print indexes to track down a call number.
You can always ask the Government Documents librarian for help in finding a government report. This is what we're here for.
- Library CatalogThe Mansfield Library catalog coverage lists government publications 1976-present with incomplete but expanding coverage of pre-1976 publications. To locate pre-1976 documents, other finding tools are necessary.
- WorldCatWorldCat is an excellent tool for tracking down historic government documents, and many records include SuDoc numbers, the call numbers used for government publications at the library. Note the SuDoc number in the catalog record & check the shelves.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set This should be one of your first stops. A treasure trove for historic government reports, this resource includes agency and exploration reports, publications of special commissions, bill reports, executive branch correspondence, and much more.
- Lexis-Nexis CongressionalThis database provides excellent access (1789-present) to Congressional hearings & select legislative histories. Provides call numbers for hearings and citation information for the Serial Set. Note the Serial Set volume number & the document number.
- Hein OnlineThis database provides the full text of all Supreme Court opinions, the U.S. Statutes at Large (all public and private laws), treaties and agreements, Presidential documents, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register.
Recommended Websites
- American Memory CollectionThe Library of Congress is building an extensive digital library collection. The American Memory collection includes a wide variety of materials: photographs, correspondence, manuscripts, sheet music, sound recordings, motion pictures, etc.
- American Presidency ProjectA digital collection of Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and transcripts of addresses
- Bureau of Land Management Boundary Maps (Cadastral Survey Plats & Notes)Plat maps and survey notes of the earliest surveys of Montana
- Federal Land Records SiteThe Bureau of Land Management has created a Federal Land Patents Database that allows you to search for General Land Office grants issued between 1820 and 1908.
- Historical Census DataThe Census has digitized large portions of print editions of census tables from 1790 through the present.
- Indian Affairs: Laws and TreatiesA digital version of the series compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler
- National ArchivesProvides access to scanned documents, the Archival Research Catalog, archival databases with soldier and immigration data, and microfilm catalogs
- Smithsonian Institution Digital LibraryThe Smithsonian is digitizing classic research, including materials on exploration and expeditions, history and culture, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878-present) and Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970Early editions of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and a compendium of historical U.S. statistics
- The Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and DiplomacyText versions of key American laws, treaties, and agreements from the colonial period through the 21st Century

Loading...




Loading...
