Research Guides: Resources Against Racism: Data

Mapping and Visualizations

American Panorama, Digital Scholarship Lab, University of Richmond
An historical atlas of the United States for the twenty-first century. It combines cutting-edge research with innovative interactive mapping techniques, designed to appeal to anyone with an interest in American history or a love of maps. Maps include The Forced Migration of Enslaved People 1810-1860, Mapping Inequality: Redlining in New Deal America 1935-1940, and Renewing Inequality: Family Displacements through Urban Renewal 1950-1966.
Mapping Decline: St. Louis and the American City
Interactive Maps exploring inequality, race and urban renewal in St. Louis.

Mapping Police Violence, Samuel Sinyangwe
Mapping every person killed by police in America in 2023.
Mapping Prejudice, University of Minnesota
Mapping project focused on seeking to expose structural racism through racial covenants in the Twin Cities.
Putting the Urban Rebellions of May 2020 in Historical Context
Provides a timeline and mapping of large-scale urban unrest. Developed by Tobin Shearer, Head of the University of Montana's African-American Studies.
Stories and Data Tools, Urban Institute
"Urban Institute is a nonprofit research organization that provides data and evidence to help advance upward mobility and equity." Includes data and research on racial and ethnic disparities, but also other topics.

Race, U.S. Census Bureau
"The Census Bureau collects race data according to U.S. Office of Management and Budget guidelines, and these data are based on self-identification. People may choose to report more than one race group. People of any race may be of any ethnic origin."

National Center for Education Statistics, U.S. Department of Education
"NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally." Includes data such as "degrees conferred by race and sex" and "racial/ethnic enrollment in public schools".

Center for the Study of Racism, Social Justice & Health
Data resources highlighted by the UCLA Center. The Center's mission "is to promote health equity through rigorous research, innovative teaching, and community engagement."
The COVID Racial Data Tracker, The COVID Tracking Project
The COVID Racial Data Tracker advocates for, collects, publishes, and analyzes racial data on the pandemic across the United States. New data no longer added as of March, 2021.
Health Disparities and Strategies Reports, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Reports cover "health disparities and inequalities across a wide range of diseases, behavioral risk factors, environmental exposures, social determinants, and health-care access by sex, race and ethnicity, income, education, disability status and other social characteristics" as well as public health programs.

Law Enforcement, Bureau of Justice Statistics, U.S. Department of Justice
Find statistics and surveys related to law enforcement.
Excessive or reasonable force by police? Research on law enforcement and racial conflict in the wake of Ferguson, Journalist's Resource, Harvard Kennedy School
Includes links to raw data and gives insight on how to think about incorporating statistics in reporting.
Fatal Encounters, D. Brian Burghart
Captures all deaths through police interaction in the United States (since Jan. 1, 2000).
The Henry A. Wallace Police Crime Database, Philip Matthew Stinson
The Police Crime Database includes summary information on 10,287 criminal arrest cases from the years 2005-2014 involving 8,495 individual nonfederal sworn law enforcement officers, each of whom were charged with one or more crimes. The arrested officers were employed by 3,429 state, local, and special law enforcement agencies located in 1,486 counties and independent cities in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
The Marshall Project - Police Abolition
Since 2014, The Marshall Project has been curating some of the best criminal justice reporting from around the web. In these records you will find the most recent and the most authoritative articles on the topics, people and events that are shaping the criminal justice conversation.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics on U.S. social, political, and economic conditions, published annually, 2013-current edition. Content for the 1878-2012 editions are available at the U.S. Census website or via Hein Online.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social science data repository, management, and curation consortium. The majority of datasets may be downloaded for analysis and data can be uploaded for preservation archiving and sharing. The ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature is an index dating back to 1962, containing over 80,000 citations of works using data from the archive, including journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, and more.