Getting Started
Below are a few titles to get you started. You can browse for other book titles using the 371 call number sections for language disorders in children, the 616 call numbers for communicative disorders, and the 618 call numbers for communicative disorders in children.
Assessment & intervention for communication disorders in culturally & linguistically diverse populations (2008) Level 2: 362.196855 L273A
Classification of developmental language disorders: Theoretical issues and clinical implications (2004) Electronic Book
Clinical research in communicative disorders: Principles and strategies (1987) Level 5: 616.855 H462c
Handbook of language and literacy: Development and disorders (2004) Level 2: 371.914 H23645
Reference manual for communicative sciences and disorders: Speech and language (1994) Q Oversize Shelves Level 5: 616.855 K37r
Finding Books and Media
Use the Catalog to find books and media items (DVDs, CDs, etc.) at the Mansfield Library.
Use WorldCat to find books and media located in libraries worldwide. Request items you find in WorldCat that the Mansfield Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan.
Many books no longer under copyright protection are available online. Try one of the following resources if you are looking for a book published before 1923: Google Books, Open Library, Project Gutenberg, or The Universal Digital Library.
Contact Me
Feel free to contact me if you need assistance with your research, have general library questions, or to suggest changes or additions to this guide.
Digging Deeper
Databases
Electronic Resources can be accessed from the library homepage in two ways:
-
Click on Databases by Subject then choose Communicative Sciences and Disorders to get a list of resources specific to your discipline. You will find many databases, including:
Academic Search Premier - Multidisciplinary, full-text database
Health Reference Center Academic - Indexes health-related topics
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - Nursing and allied health
Taylor & Francis Journals - Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
-
Click on Database A-Z list to get a list of all the resources we have access to electronically. If you're looking for a particular database or index (CINAHL, Health Sciences, etc) this will be the best way to get there.
Remote access logins (accessing databases from off campus) are the same as your Blackboard or Grizmail accounts. You will be asked for this information when you use most library resources off campus.
Journals
Click on Journals from the library homepage to search for a specific journal title.
Research journals by the American Speech and Hearing Association (ASHA) include:
American Journal of Audiology - AJA is a twice-yearly journal of clinical practice for audiologists and hearing researchers.
Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research - JSLHR is a bimonthly journal containing basic as well as applied research in normal and disordered communication processes.
American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology - AJSLP is a quarterly journal of clinical practice for speech-language pathologists and speech and language researchers.
Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools - LSHSS is a quarterly journal focusing on research appropriate to speech-language pathologists and audiologists in the schools setting.
Other research journals of interest include:
Annals of Otology, Rhinology, and Laryngology; Clinical Linguistics and Phonetics; Ear and Hearing; International Journal of Audiology; International Journal of Speech Language Pathology; Journal of the American Academy of Audiology; Language and Speech.
Your Librarian |
Kate ZoellnerEducation, Human Sciences and Psychology Librarian, Assessment Coordinator
Mansfield Library - Room 325
32 Campus Drive
Missoula, MT 59812
406-243-4421 | 800-240-4939
Send Email
Subjects:
Communicative Sciences & Disorders, Counselor Education, Curriculum & Instruction, Educational Leadership, Health & Human Performance, Psychology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait