This is the "Home" page of the "History of American Education (C&I 504)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

History of American Education (C&I 504)   Tags: ci504, classroom, curriculum, instruction, teacher  

This guide is designed to assist C&I 504 students with their biographical essay and annotated bibliography research assignments.
Last Updated: Feb 6, 2012 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/CI504 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

Use the details that you find in these resources to guide further searching (i.e., birth/death dates, name variations, geographical details, key points, vocabulary, bibliographic citations).

Biography Resources

American National Biography Online. Biographical dictionary of about 17,500 deceased notable American men and women who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

Biographical dictionary of modern American educators (1997) eBook from ebrary

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African-American education (1996) eBook from ebrary

Encyclopedia of American education (2001) Level 2 Call Number: 370.97303 U572 2001

Encyclopedia of education (2003) Level 2 Call Number: 370.3 E564

Encyclopedia of multicultural education (1999) eBook from ebrary, and paper copy Level 2 370.117 M6812e

Higher education in the United States: An encyclopedia (2002) Level 2 Call Number: 378.7303 H6386

Native American education: A reference handbook (2002) Level 2 Call Number: 371.82997 H162n

Browse the 370 call number section for additional titles.

 

Welcome!

This guide is for students enrolled in History of American Education and others researching this topic. In addition to the guidance on this page, see the tabs above on research steps and resources.

Feel free to contact me; I am always willing to discuss specific questions!

 

Finding Books and Media

Use the Catalog to find books and media items (DVDs, CDs, etc.) at the Mansfield Library. The library has a growing collection of electronic books. To only search for e-books, use the Advanced Search in the catalog and enter "electronic book" (without quotes) into one of the three search boxes.

Use WorldCat to find books and media located in libraries worldwide. Request items you find in WorldCat that the Mansfield Library does not own through Interlibrary Loan.

In addition to the electronic books you can access via the library's subscription databases (i.e., ebrary and NetLibrary), many older books no longer under copyright protection are freely available online. Try one of the following resources if you are looking for a book published before 1923: Google Books, Open Library, Project Gutenberg, or The Universal Digital Library.

 

Digging Deeper

Use the Library's electronic resources to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles on your topic. From the library homepage, select the "View databases, A-Z" link to find all of the recommended databases listed below.

Education Full Text. Full text articles from 350 journals as well as indexing for over 770 titles. Indexing back to 1983. Full text from 1996-present.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center). Abstracts and citations to educational-related literature from articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, AV, directories, books and more. There are over 1.4 million records in the database. Coverage is from 1966-present..

JSTOR. Full text articles from over 600 core scholarly journals in many fields, including 130 education and 316 history titles. Journals start with volume 1, issue 1 (many of which date back to the 1800s) to roughly 5 years ago.

Project MUSE. Full text articles covering multiple subjects, including articles from 22 education and 68 history journals.

For newspapers, from the library homepage select the "View databases, by subject" link, then History or Newspapers to find relevant databases, including:

African American Newspapers: The 19th Century. Includes full text coverage of 7 African-American newspapers from 1827-1902.

American Periodicals Series. Covers over 1,100 US periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines.

The Chicago Defender Historical. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with page and article images from 1910-1975.

The New York Times Historical. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with page and article images from September 18, 1851-December 31, 2007.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers. Includes 500 newspaper titles with page and articles images.

The Washington Post Historical. Includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with page and article images from December 12, 1877-December 31, 1994.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Kate Zoellner
Contact Info
Education, Human Sciences and Psychology Librarian, Assessment Coordinator
Mansfield Library - Room 325
32 Campus Drive
Missoula, MT 59812
406-243-4421 | 800-240-4939
Send Email
 

Your Feedback

If you need more assistance, please let me know in what area.
Finding articles
Finding primary source documents
Evaluating resources
Managing references/citations
Finding items in the library
Using online resources
Finding journals

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip