This is the "Home" page of the "B-Movies at the Mansfield Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer
Looking for some monster films, horror films, vintage sci-fi flicks, or related films to get you through the summer? Check out the Mansfield Library's holdings here!
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2011 URL: http://libguides.lib.umt.edu/BMovies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find B-Movies at the Mansfield Library

The links below will allow you to browse B-Movies in our collection.  You can also search for individual titles in our catalog.

  • Find a Movie
    Use this link to locate an individual movie title in our catalog.
  • Horror Films
    The link above will take you to our holdings in horror films. Some of these might not be considered "B-Movies" per se, however, this link will certainly take you to such films.
  • Martial Arts Films
    Browse Martial Arts films by using this link. Not all of these are B-movies.
  • Monster Films
    Browse films featuring monsters such as Godzilla and others by clicking on this link.
  • Sci-Fi Films
    Not all of these Sci-Fi films will be B-Movies, however, this link will take you to related vintage movies that are so bad, they're good!
 

B-Movies@ML!

So, what is a b-movie anyway? The phrase may elicit visions of monsters, mad scientists, vampires, or other campy elements. Brief and general dictionary definitions often state that such films are low-budget and low-quality productions. However, the nuanced history of these films suggests a deeper definition. Wikipedia actually has a great introductory article on B-Movies-- complete with helpful authoritative references-- which discusses the history of these films in great detail. The first few sentences of this article give a more detailed description of a b-movie:

A B movie is a low-budget commercial motion picture that is not definitively an arthouse or pornographic film. In its original usage, during the Golden Age of Hollywood, the term more precisely identified a film intended for distribution as the less-publicized, bottom half of a double feature. Although the U.S. production of movies intended as second features largely ceased by the end of the 1950s, the term B movie continued to be used in the broader sense it maintains today ("B Movie," Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/B_movie, accessed 8 June 2011)

Below, please check out some staff and librarian favorite b-movies at the Mansfield Library. Enjoy!

 

Megan S.'s picks

Cover Art
Cat People
Call Number: DVD 04947
Includes Cat People and The Curse of the Cat People

 

Pat T.'s Picks

Cover Art
Abominable Dr. Phibes
Call Number: DVD 04974
Also includes Dr. Phebes Rises Again

Cover Art
The Blob
Call Number: DVD 04956

Cover Art
Mad Max
Call Number: DVD 04946

Cover Art
Them!
Call Number: DVD 04942

Cover Art
Valley of Gwangi
Call Number: DVD 04896

 

Patti's Picks

 

Tammy's Picks

Cover Art
Army of Darkness
Call Number: DVD 04918

Cover Art
Master of the Flying Guillotine
Call Number: DVD 04919

Cover Art
Plan 9 From Outer Space
Call Number: DVD 04916

 

Wes's Picks

Cover Art
Piranha
Call Number: DVD 04893

Cover Art
Seventh Voyage of Sinbad
Call Number: DVD 04693

Cover Art
Re-Animator
Call Number: DVD 04941

Cover Art
Hammer Horror Collection
Call Number: DVD 04927
Includes the titles: Horror of Dracula, Dracula Has Risen from the Grave, Curse of Frankenstein, and Frankenstein Must be Destroyed.

Cover Art
36th Chamber of Shaolin
Call Number: DVD 04944

More B-Movie Information

Below are some links to sites that may provide free access to documentary films on the web or provide more information on documentary filmmakers. 

  • B-Masters Cabal
    Gives reviews and news for B-Movies.
  • Badmovies.org
    Gives reviews of B-Movies along with a somewhat humorous rating system.
  • Moving Image Archive
    Yes, you can find some b-movies in the Internet Archive. Also included here are some vintage movie trailers that could be of interest.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip